OtagoNet Governing Committee

A Governing Committee oversees the OtagoNet Joint Venture and is made up of representatives from the network owners, The Power Company Limited and Electricity Invercargill Limited.

Their role includes determining policy; approving the Strategic Plan, Business Plan and Asset Management Plan; monitoring performance, reporting to shareholders and ensuring that the network complies with relevant legislation.

The following members make up the Govering Committee.


Duncan Fea


Duncan is a principal in Crowe Howarth, Chartered Accountants and Business Advisors based in Queenstown. He has broad business experience including corporate governance and recovery and advises both New Zealand and overseas clients on their commercial affairs. Duncan is a past Director of Pioneer Generation Limited and Queenstown Airport Corporation Limited. Duncan is a Director of PowerNet Limited, PowerNet Central and Southern Generation Limited Partnership. He is also a member of the OtagoNet Joint Venture Governing Committee. Duncan is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.

Doug Fraser

BSc (Chemistry)

Doug farms sheep and dairy cows on 595 hectares in Western Southland. He is a member of the OtagoNet Joint Venture Governing Committee, Deputy Chair of PowerNet Limited, and was Chair of Otago Power Services Limited until its amalgamation with Power Net Limited on 31 March 2016.

Doug is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.

Don Nicolson

Don operates a grazing farm at Waimatua, east of Invercargill and a cropping farm at Irwell, Canterbury. He is Chair of the PowerNet Limited board, with previous governance roles as local and national President, Federated Farmers of New Zealand. Don is also a former Trustee of the Southland Electric Power Supply Consumer Trust.

Don is a member of the Institute of Directors.

Sarah Brown


Sarah joined the Board of Electricity Invercargill Limited on 1 November 2013. She is also a Director of PowerNet Limited.

She is the Project Manager for the Southland Regional Development Strategy, has been Council Chair of Southern Institute of Technology since 2011 and is a trustee of the 1000 Days Trust.

Sarah is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.