Board of Directors – The Power Company Ltd.

The Power Company Limited Board is made up of six Directors appointed by the Southland Electric Power Supply Consumer Trust.

Director’s responsibilities are governed by the company’s constitution and the Companies Act 1993. Directors’ roles include determining policies, preparing a Statement of Intent, Business Plan and Asset Management Plan, monitoring PowerNet’s performance, reporting to the shareholder (Southland Electric Power Supply Consumer Trust), publishing an Annual Report and ensuring PowerNet Limited complies with legislation.

The Directors are:


Doug Fraser

BSc (Chemistry)

Doug farms sheep and dairy cows on 595 hectares in Western Southland. He is a member of the OtagoNet Joint Venture Governing Committee, Deputy Chair of PowerNet Limited, and was Chair of Otago Power Services Limited until its amalgamation with Power Net Limited on 31 March 2016.

Doug is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.

Duncan Fea


Duncan is a principal in Crowe Howarth, Chartered Accountants and Business Advisors based in Queenstown. He has broad business experience including corporate governance and recovery and advises both New Zealand and overseas clients on their commercial affairs. Duncan is a past Director of Pioneer Generation Limited and Queenstown Airport Corporation Limited.

Duncan is a Director of PowerNet Limited, PowerNet Central and Southern Generation Limited Partnership. He is also a member of the OtagoNet Joint Venture Governing Committee.

Duncan is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.

Don Nicolson

Don operates a grazing farm at Waimatua, east of Invercargill and a cropping farm at Irwell, Canterbury. He is Chair of the PowerNet Limited board, with previous governance roles as local and national President, Federated Farmers of New Zealand. Don is also a former Trustee of the Southland Electric Power Supply Consumer Trust.

Don is a member of the Institute of Directors.

Locky McGregor

Locky is a Shareholder and a member of the Management Team in McGregor Concrete Limited. Locky is also a Shareholder and Director of Mainland Shotcrete Limited.

He has also been an owner of a mountain bike tourist business in Queenstown and part owner of a concrete pumping company which operated in five locations throughout New Zealand.

Locky joined The Power Company and PowerNet Boards in September 2016

Wayne Mackey

B.E. (Electrical)

Wayne was CEO of Network Tasman Ltd for 18 years. He has also held directorships with Nelson Electricity Ltd and SmartCo Ltd.

From 1991-1998, he was CitiPower’s general manager and prior to that city energy engineer with the Nelson City Council.

Peter Moynihan


Peter Moynihan brings experience as a director in the agribusiness sector.

He is currently on the board of agricultural cooperative, Ravensdown Ltd, and a director of dairy farming businesses Rathmore Farm Ltd, Aerodrome Farm Ltd and Hacienda Lochiel Ltd.

Since 1993, Peter has held several roles with Westpac NZ Ltd. He is currently the bank’s South Island regional agribusiness manager.

The Power Company is owned by the Southland Electric Power Supply Consumer Trust on behalf of consumers connected to the network. Click on this link for more information about the Trust.