July 28, 2020

2019-20 Property Manager of the Year Winner announced

  • Kathryn McCoy
  • 1 min read

The Southland Warm Homes Trust (SWHT) is pleased to announce that the winner of its 2019-20 Southland Property Management Company of the Year Award is the Southland Real Estate property management team.

The award was presented to representatives from Southland Real Estate at a function on Tuesday 28 July 2020.

SWHT Chairman, Jim Hargest said the award recognises property managers who are actively improving the living conditions of tenants and supporting the vision of the SWHT.

This is the second consecutive year the Southland Real Estate’s property management team have received this award. The award recognises the efforts of the team to encourage healthier and warmer living conditions for tenants, engaging with Landlords and promoting energy saving initiatives.

The team has continued to be proactively advising new tenants of home energy efficiency ideas, and Landlords of their obligations under the Residential Tenancy Act requirements.

The SWHT in conjunction with the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA) have been helping Southland families live in warmer drier healthier homes since 2008, with the support of the government and local funders, insulation subsidies have been delivered by local service provider Awarua Synergy to more than 7000 homes in Southland and West Otago.

In July 2018, a four-year government programme called Warmer Kiwi Homes was introduced. The subsidised insulation and heating programme has been targeting homeowners on low income or who live in a low socioeconomic areas.

Recently the Government announced a change to increase the EECA funding contribution from 67% to 90% of installation costs, effective from 28th April 2020.

In accordance with this change, the SWHT has adjusted its funding contribution, so eligible homeowners can receive 95% subsidised insulation or new heating unit, depending on the size of their requirements and applicable conditions.

No more posts