Southland Power Trust (SEPSCT)

In January 1998, the Government returned the ownership of the local electricity network to the people of Southland by establishing the Southland Electric Power Supply Consumer Trust.

The Trust holds all the shares in The Power Company Limited on behalf of consumers connected to the company’s network and distributes the benefits to these consumers.

The Government appointed the initial five Trustees, with subsequent Trustees elected by the electricity consumers.

While the Trustees do not have any direct involvement with the operation of The Power Company or PowerNet, they are responsible for appointing the Directors of The Power Company Limited, negotiating strategic direction and performance objectives with the Directors on behalf of consumers, and holding a public Annual Meeting of the Trust held every September.


Carl Findlater

Carl was elected as a Trustee in September 2013, and has served as Chair from 2018.

Stuart Baird

Stuart was elected as a trustee in September 2015.

Stephen Canny

Stephen is a business and strategic projects group manager.

Wade Devine

Wade was elected as a Trustee in September 2021.

David Rose

David was elected as a Trustee in September 2013.